Session 2 Production Project

CC Image A Sound Upgrade by Keith Williamson at Flickr

Summary

Our goal was to make a one minute or less film with a beginning, middle, and end while building tension. As the sound designer, my task was to gather background sounds and sort my files. I contributed to the film by building tension with music and created the sound used in the film.

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking: I had to use the sound equipment which was very new to me. I had to get room tones and extra sounds in post-production. When there was a problem with the sound equipment I fixed the issue by changing some of the settings.

Ways of Working: Throughout this project, my team members and I had to talk to each other in order to get things done. In pre-production, we had to decide what the film was going to be about. I had to talk to everyone on my team in order to get the correct sounds when needed.

Tools for Working: For this film, I used the sound equipment. This included the boom mic, audio deck, headphones, phone, and the camera. I watched a few videos to learn these tools and make music for the film.

Ways of Living in the World: During session two, outside of the class was a little stressful. I had many essays and tests. To forget about this stress, I would play soccer and watch movies. I even watched a few more videos about sound.

The Film (The Heist)

Reactions to the Final Version

When post-production ended we had to present our film in front of the class and the advisory committee. AJ and Mr. Leduc enjoyed the punching sound effect. They wanted to know more about it. In the advisory committee, Michelle wrote, “I liked hearing the footsteps in the beginning scene. And the phone ringing. The music was a good choice was good for the theme and the mood.” This was very good to get feedback on what I did well and what could be done better in the next production project.

Evaluation of Final Version

In our final version of the film, it had multiple principles from the SUCCESs model. The film was a very simple concept while telling a story. The film was also unexpected because we had to build tension and insert surprises. The film is also credible because of the screenwriter recording a conversation and changing it to fit the genre of our film.

What I learned and Problems I Solved

From the session two production project, I learned how to use the sound equipment. Before this project, I never knew how to use the equipment to get the dialogue and post-production sound. A few times during production the audio deck would only record sound through one side. To fix this problem I had to change one of the settings not on the half sheet setup manual. Sometimes we struggled to film on certain days due to outfits. I had to remind one person the night before to bring the raincoat used in the film.

0 comments