Session 3 Production Project

CC Image Chocolate by Bigbirdz at Flickr

Summary

Our goal was to create a film using a script provided to us at the beginning of the three-week project. As the editor I had to show my organization, editing to a rhythm, and using an “L or J” cut in our film.

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking: I had to use premiere pro to edit. The only previous experience I had was in the Photo/Video course freshman year. I had to understand which shot was going where and learn about rhythm and L/J cuts. When there was a problem with editing I talked with Leonel and he helped me out.

Ways of Working: Throughout this project, my team members and I had to talk to each other in order to get tasks done. In pre-production, we had to learn about our roles and discuss how we were going to present our ideas. I had to talk to my team to see if the editing had good transitions and if the sound was good.

Tools for Working: For this film, I used Premiere Pro. The application was hard at first but easier as post-production went along. I watched a few videos to learn about editing, rhythm, and different cuts.

Ways of Living in the World: During session three, other than working on the production project I had tests and homework. I started to play indoor soccer and kept on watching film-related videos. I tended to watch short videos on different styles of filming. I found a “Youtuber” that is really appealing to watch. He makes his short videos in the style of advertisements. The Youtuber picks a product and makes a short on it. Its very interesting.

The Film (Chocolate)

Reactions to the Final Version

When post-production ended we had to present our film in front of the class and the advisory committee. Ethan said, “Edits were very fluid and works really well. The final voice on the black screen worked very well. But the voices weren’t properly aligned,” and James said, “You served the camera work, great tempo, and smooth.” This was very good to get feedback on what I did well and what could be done better in the next production project.

Evaluation of Final Version

In our final version of the film, it had multiple principles from the SUCCESs model. The film was a very simple concept while telling a story about chocolate. The film was also unexpected because we had to build tension through dialogue and editing. The film is also emotional because of the argument between the two characters.

What I learned and Problems I Solved

From the session three production project, I learned how to edit. Before this project, only edited a few times years before. A few times during production the videos would not flow into each other. To fix this problem I had to talk with my team and asked them what I should do. We were limited on time due to the two days of pre-production. I had to keep the team focused and on track for the deadline.

0 comments