Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

“Day 092/366 – To Do List” by Great Beyond is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Your toughest work is defining what your work is! –  Peter Drucker

SUMMARY

  • This week I continued to use my GTD system and learned a little bit about the processes behind it. It was very interesting!

MAKE A LIST

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
    • Work on Sneak On The Lot activity three.
    • Calculus Homework
    • Reading/Editing Calculus IA
    • TOK Video Notes
    • Start a new unit of Human Anatomy
    • Edit English paper

NOTICE WHAT YOU NOTICED

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • Film: Work on Sneak On The Lot activity three.
  • Calculus: Calculus Homework
  • TOK: TOK Video Notes
  • Calculus: Reading/Editing Calculus IA
  • Human Anatomy: Start a new unit of Human Anatomy
  • English: Edit English paper

SET A TIMER

https://giphy.com/gifs/time-clock-konczakowski-d3yxg15kJppJilnW

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

David Allen image
Oct. 2020 Lucidchart interview with David Allen
  • Capture
  • Clarify what you have captured
  • Organize into a trusted system
  • Review and reflect on the content
  • Engage with your activities
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
  • Reflect on GTD and getting to the top of the colorful list above for a minute
    • The GTD system helps keep you away from the bottom because it keeps you organized and ready to learn. The system allows the individual to not get overwhelmed because you have planned out your attack for the day, week, month… This system may be hard to complete, but it is going to pay off in the end.

  • Our lives are shaped around GTD systems and schedules.
    • School
    • Work
    • Sports
 Katia Verresen homepage
Katia Verresen, kvaleadership.com

“I coach C-suite executives and rising stars from the earliest startups to Fortune 100 companies. My passion is to help ambitious leaders achieve their full human potential.”  – Read more about Katia…

  • If you think about it, no one has completely reached their full potential; a GTD system gets you closer!
  • Power = Executing your vision in the world.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Beginning last year, Mr. Le Duc has pushed us to use a GTD system we liked. Last year I used Trello and this year I started to move to a paper planner. I still plan on using Trello, but the physical reminder that can be right in front of me helps me stay on track and meet deadlines.
  • One problem I encountered this week was the amount of math work I needed to complete. To fix this issue, I wrote down in my planner what I would do each day to limit the stress on myself. This helped a lot and I will continue to use this system!

0 comments